MyI@FarNiche

Building an XNA Game Studio XBox360 Indie Game.

[page 0013] ~ What’s In My NameSpace:

Precluding indirectional additivity.

I have recently found a previously started game solution by the name of CameraAI. This was to be a cleaned up milestone effort to consolidate a main screen and two subscreens, player one and two, over laying the main screen. This came from an expansion of the SplitScreen sample and is the interface gathered from the game HUD On. Having built many side samples to recognize patterns within the given sample solutions, I’ve gone about picking up past Hammer-Throw shots of games I’ve previously attempted. This one is the closest fit for what I need now so I’ll just use this solution as this games ’empty’ entry point. Done.

The Knitty and Gritty.

Building for the Xbox 360, for me, means I won’t be using the computer keyboard, cell phone touch pad or Kinect entry routines. It’s all Game Pad manipulation for the console, which should provide me a better resolution, as I focus on this current task. This should lessen the side track subjects and obliquely aligned variable connections required to make each adaptation work on their respective platforms. Using the game pad as the singular mode of interaction, the obfuscation of concepts pertaining to a controller in each game state should become minimized; not to mention the extra testing processes arising from multiple platform inclusion. But for now, . . .

Sample State vs. Game State.

So far, it has all been a matter of learning by doing, where the main sources of code are based on that within the ‘education catalog’ residing in APP HUB. With the given short concise samples, the exposition of stream triggering mechanisma within their solutions are exemplified. Comparatively, games have intricate compilations, involving many samples, providing an observation as to how these given samples, together, comprise a completed game. With the singular sample solution, when the program is activated, the controller and the observable interface immediately appear in the state for which they are to perform. In a game, the state of the viewable interface and its controller are managed. This affords to the player a cohesive understanding that the controllers I/O interfaces are attuned to what is seen and is capable of being manipulated as each game screen rises in and falls out of resolution. The focus of the game pad follows the state of the game screen. In a simple sample there is only one screen and therefore only one state that the player controller must confirm. In a game, the player control conforms to the state of the game. This ‘state’ ranges in complexity as seen by the entry splash screen, main menu, help files, game options, loading and saving routines, game play and exit procedures. Each of these states are companioned with a set of controller commands that correlate a screen with actions which should be obvious to the player. Among these, countless other states can be created, accessed and acted upon throughout the game. Manipulating the course of game play through these requests utilizes a call and response technique where something is required by the game or desired by the player. Direction within the game is thereby presented to the player as a place where a conclusion can be derived. At times this is a different screen and therefore a different game state. There is also the possibility to change the controller state while the game screen remains in its current state such as when a players transport type is changed or when a resource trigger is to be actuated. There are many possibilities, and so, many configurations. Getting the pad and screen to match up is where I’m going with this. Seeing that I would like to have the main screen accessible to all players, while player one and player two each have their own subscreen and management processes, I need to explore the details provided through the Object Oriented Programming paradigm. The prospectus is immense, and it is why I’ll be working through this within the Research section of my site. Gleaning the relevance and importance of all this is also why I’m simplifying my input options to only the game pad from the console and computer.

Relegation and Reciprocity.

The further I dip my hand into the water the wetter my hand gets. It seems that research has once again given way to practice and study, which means that assorted reading, general look-ups, cited clarifications and walk through code trails are in store for the waters ahead. Using some ephemerally idiomatic colloquialisms, I’ll be water park splash-capade-ing, deep diver trolling, shooting the rapids and back water canoeing my way around these ports of call. Each of these endeavors will move my game brain through the subjects deemed relevant and should evolve into their own sets of mindful solace. To these ends, I’ll extrapolate what conjunctive points I have found to be missing and add what is needed as this solution produces an effective utilization of the concepts I’m attending, that being the merger of the GameStateManagement and FuzzyLogic samples. Letting CameraAI soak up all this perturbation and become defined as a watershed of clearer resources, I’ll then pour it back into BasicGameSize which will become what is next on my agenda, a working milestone.

Two new pages are in my site. The first is “Blages“, which stands for Blog Page Titles and links my site to the individual posts in this WordPress site. It’s more of a how should I title these blogs so they progress conceptually, page to page. The second is titled RESEARCH_MENU MECHANISM_PHASE 01. I’ll access it through the Research sections left column menu entry under the Menu Mechanisms “Me Me” link then the right columns “Phase 01” link. It will open space for my commentation extracts captured from all this mental precipitate concerning OOP and its utility.

“I’ve got water on the brain, …” from the band Ten Years After.

So anyway, it seems that “the gamb and his forest friends(whatever)” has taken the lead over “FarNiche_####_?” on the Vlog by two to one. It is a good thing with the newest being; “the gamb and his forest friends(Right Here in Potato-cide)”. And in doing, it gives me some encouragement so that when it comes around to making some video game music clips I’ll at least have an idea of what to expect.

I’m glad I can still get my game face on while sloshing my vacation around along with this endevor about in my head.
G’day.

September 17, 2012 - Posted by | 2012 [0006] to [0018], The Process

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

