MyI@FarNiche

Building an XNA Game Studio XBox360 Indie Game.

[page 0029] ~ Not planning for the future, just February:

One more Sketch.

Seeing that the #1GAM theme for February is sound and the way I’ll be going about building my game is through Processing, I’ll set this blog post up so anyone who feels the need to play my game will be able to run it in Processing.

My game is called ASyncingHeart_II and the meaning will become apparent in a moment.  The reason I use Processing now is that the team I was on for Global Game Jam 2013, was using this for our team game, Patient.  The theme was that of a heartbeat and a sound byte of a heartbeat was given to speed us on our way.  Giving this some thought and steeping myself in that idea, I decided to continue on and see what I could build.  Prior to GGJ13 I had no idea of Processing’s existence , so this little how-to needs to be taken from a standpoint of me as a freshie/newb.  The easiest way is to dive right in with the Getting Started page and let them do their best to explain what needs to happen.  As a follow through, there seems to be two main sites; Processing and Processingjs.  Bouncing back and forth between those two sites also seems to be inevitable so… I’ve found it helpful and that it works best when learning about how it goes, by working it like a sing-along and then to just run with it.  For a Processing type to pick for your machine, there are a couple of OS and system types to choose from, i.e. Win, Mac etc. 32, 64 bit systems, etc.  Then, to get accustomed with what they have to offer, many examples and small games accompany the language Reference documentation to become familiar with it and what its capabilities are.

Ready, set, …

By this point, hopefully, you now have the API/IDE up and running.  The two Modes I have been using in the API are JAVA and JavaScript, these are what my February games languages focus on.  In JAVA Mode, when the play button is pressed, the game plays in a console environment, while the JavaScript mode runs through a web page built in a client side server in a browser.  Once you feel comfortable knocking around in their samples, the next step is to take a short jaunt over to GitHub to get the game resources for this Februarys game, that being the source code, sound and image files.

My Next Canvas.

A couple of troubles I have come across, if you haven’t noticed, within the four browsers I am viewing all this gamification in, is that of cross browser coherence, having built yet another ‘canvas’ web game/exposition, VectorSet.  This ‘game’ is more of a what if or how about this, kind of game to get things in working order for the upcoming game challenges.  All that this game does is, in the upper right-hand corner, shows where the mouse pointer is on the canvas.  The only other thing it does, in the bottom right-hand corner, is show a matrix of vector icons.  When the mouse is over the vector pad, a text is shown above the pad giving the coordinates of the matrix icon that the mouse is currently hovering over.  Also, when the mouse enters the area of the vector pad, the corresponding icon changes from its Neutral position icon to a raised, Up, position icon.  When any of the buttons are clicked, via the mouse, a pressed icon, Down, is shown at that position.  When the mouse pointer leaves the vector pad area, the matrix text disappears.  That is all, wee!

Browser Chores, (wars).

Safari, on my PC, does not keep the text and object zoom settings from between an opened to closed to opened browser state instance.  But I can recreate the text and object zoom settings closely from how I built it as seen in IE9.  Although my VectorSet icons still get a little choppy at different zoom levels, i.e. not crisp, but not terrible, VectorSet still retains its intended simplistic beauty, for the most part.

Chrome ‘incognito’ mode gives me the top of the browser screen back from the extensions tool bar that has crept over the top of my webs page from the browser.  But then, I can’t just unview the extensions tool bar by clicking the faux Enabled check box in the Chrome/Extensions tab.  To reclaim that space I need to go into my computer and uninstall their extensions ‘program’, hm.  There is also, seemingly, only one zoom control, but all in all it works just fine in all settings, i.e. my icons in VectorSet retain their beautification, happy me.

Firefox does something quite strange with my VectorSet icons, they jumble the output when using the zoom object from View/Zoom/(Zoom In, Zoom Out).  And after setting the object zoom size, then clicking on the Zoom Text Only, a global reset of the whole page results, taking all the other previous zoom session zooms out of their previously set proportions, more hm.  I’ll deal with it all, somehow.

Just so I’ll remember, which is a small portion of what wisdom is, I’ll try to capture the recipe that is bringing all this side venturing about.  First off, on my PC the screen resolution is 1600×1200 to maximize the allowable monitor real-estate.  My main browser is IE9 with zoom settings of Text size at Larger and the overall browser zoom at 125%.  That’s the most comfortable setting for my eyes and the settings I use almost nearly perpetually, morning, noon and night.

More Rethink.

Seeing that this is a, “Hey, I’ve built a game, check it out!” and then get some Twitter feed back kind of happening.  I might as well change my own rules a bit and build two versions of this game.  One will be in Processing and get a toss over to GitHub with the other built in my site, ready to play.  But I seem to be torn at this point though.  Because Processing in JAVA Mode has great sound using ‘minim’ and sound is this months side-quest, I feel a need to have a game with sound.  On the other hand using Processingjs my game can be put to the web and is then readily playable, although the sound aspect will suffer greatly if not in totality, because web sound isn’t quite up to speed: see W3C, and The audio element, as a consistant standard across all browsers.  The simple, albeit arduous, solution is to build both.  Nine days left in February, sure, if its doable it looks like I’ll do it.  Yeah dad, “Build it first, then worry about it.”, get it, got it, good.

Best of luck to me, until then,

G’day.

February 19, 2013 - Posted by | 2013 [0019] to [00??], The Process

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

