MyI@FarNiche

Building an XNA Game Studio XBox360 Indie Game.

[page 0038] ~ Focus on the Locus:

 Rerecognition.

But first, a short “what’s its” of the month.  Dun dun da-a-a, Xbox One, eight cores of processing power among other things.  I don’t have one, yet, but as an XNA hobby/Indie programmer I think that might just happen.  And two, the computer version MMORPG Dungeons & Dragons Online is proving to be an incredible game.  If they make a version that runs on the new Xbox One, like the game that was put out before, Dungeons & Dragons: Daggerdale for the Xbox 360, I could see that happening too.  Hopefully as a seamless, transferable, built so that no loss of any of my Avatars, their assets or their Reincarnation upgrades is a part of the deal, sure, I’ll be in.  Now back to One Game A Month and version 2.0 of Wanderer.

The game starts, and I know how to play it, Wanderer.  I’ve written the blog posts so I understand the backstory.  I know the routine for input interactivity between the game interface and the controls used for that interaction.  I have a pretty good idea of the pitfalls of the avatar in the game and what are the best ways to keep the avatar alive during game play.  And, of course, I know fully well just what doesn’t work or just kinda works or might work if certain conditions that aren’t quite obvious are met, or, or, or . . .

Wanderer v2.0

It looks like the game itself is as complete as it needs to be for it to be considered an actual game.  It starts with a splash screen.  It moves right into the storyline build up.  And then, it starts to get a little scant when the next options are given for the player to make the next choice.  There are three directions that the player may choose from, all available to the player to select, at that point, the beginning of the game, that being START, CONTINUE, RESTART.

Start works just fine, it had to, because I wouldn’t have been able to test the games logic and follow the accompanying algorithms had it not.

Continue, was added because during game play, if a player were to right click on the canvas object where the main game action is taking place, (i.e. the terrain map, avatar, springs, hamlets, legend and other assorted game assets), where the player finds direction through a game state change back to where game management options are found and can be chosen from, the Continue option allowed reentry into the game where the player left off from the right click.

Restart, has remained in limbo since the games inception, and has for the longest time, has hadn’t much of any observable, more like nonrecognition of its existence, constructive work directed towards it with its use or within its function.  Reflexively, the work-around or easy-out, for me, while building this game, was to right click on the webpage, not the canvas object, and from the browser menu dropdown list item was to select Refresh.  This would simply reload the game on the webpage in its entirety and bypass the Restart button option completely.  Very quick and dirty, cheap and easy, and from a players point of view, a huge break from the captivation that is constructed to enfold a player while one progresses through a seamless adventure presented by the game.

This is how Wanderer starts up and with what a player is confronted with while entering into a, prospectively, enjoyable game experience.

And?

From all this reflection, Wanderer, although playable, is not as intuitive a game to play through the given seemingly simplistic ideals, icon representations and underlying concepts as seen on the screen in its current state.  The presentation assumes leaps of faith that might not be as clear to one who would stumble upon and find this game through a browser and a search engine.  There are also still too many gaps that allow for presumptions that are not fully and at times more than likely not even partially addressed nor have been given any documentation so as to be found in the games, and at the time of this writing nonexistent, help file.

So, what’s your point?

The theme for May on One Game A Month 2013 is “Grow”, and seeing that I have gamified myself previously, I will incorporate that theme unto myself as I continue my versioning of this game, my game, Wanderer, now at version 2.0.  Having stepped away from this game build for a time and now walking through it again, I can see how I refresh my own rerecognition of the paths I take which furthers the creation and evolution of this game.  It is a strange way of fate that as I draw on recollections to build retention, that tendency presumes I become oblivious to the obvious, wherein, that oversight is then perpetually reinforced.  Yep, and Yikes.  I must still be learning how to learn.  I guess that’s what my gamification take on the “Grow” theme is.  Good for me.

And yet, what is my point?

I have found my OGAM Mission Statement: “To become gainfully imbued.” is gaining truth in its surmisassions.  Thanks again Christer.

To Be Continued . . .

G’day.

May 30, 2013 - Posted by | 2013 [0019] to [00??], The Process

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

