MyI@FarNiche

Building an XNA Game Studio XBox360 Indie Game.

[page 0057] ~ Water Water Everywhere:

Updates: – Windows ShutDown Update, Xbox 360 Update.
DownLoads: – Maya 30 day trial and one month of paid Digital Tutors.

The theme is, yes, you guessed it, Water.

I hate it and I love it all at the same time.  SoftImage is going out of print and AutoDesk will have the 2015 version as the last model year out from their product line.  This makes me happy and sad as I was saving up for that and it was the package that I was looking to use for my mesh asset creation and animation production pipeline.  But now I’m happy because I won’t be getting a product that will no longer be supported after 2016, small consolation.  Earlier, I picked up their 30 day version of SoftImage and never hooked it up to my copy of ZBrush and that made me angry and sad, mostly sad because of not realizing that I could hook those two up until about a day or so after that 30 day trial had ended.  But now I’m happy and glad because I have downloaded the Maya 2014 30 day free trial and have hooked, yes that’s right, ZBrush up so both apps, Maya and ZBrush, are connected and can seamlessly transfer model meshes.

What started this all off was a question of @McFunkypants which caught my attention as I had just installed Unity as my game engine and had downloaded some free 3D models that were used in the tutorials of the Unity web site to get last months game moving along.  But from that question and after doing a little inquisitive searching, I found there would no longer be the app, SoftImage, that I was looking to build my assets with, so therefore the glad to sadness, :) to :(.  Then as I continued my search I also found a ZBrush 4 – GoZ Tutorial that explains how to connect Maya with ZBrush using the ZBrush “GoZ” asset transfer utility, so sad to glad, :( to :).  Wow how emoticons have grown.

All of this has made for an, um, very interesting and informative month of April.  Then along with the searching and researching, I’ve been working on various applications that compliment the Digital Tutors tutorial videos, or I should say, the tutorial videos that compliment the applications.  One of the tutorials was going on about how to get a texture mapped to a mesh so the uv’s of the interior environment would have the desired ambiance portrayed within that portion of the game.  That tutorial mentioned a product from Allegorithmic, which sounded familiar from my previous work with XNA for the XBox, MaPZone 2.6 circa 2007, also by Allegorithmic.  But it had been a while since I had opened that old application.  That old app had a clumsy interface.  But after going through another tutorial for Substance Designer, I found their updated replacement of their product to be more intuitive.  And after visiting their site, it just so happened that they had a sale going on.  So, as luck would have it and to my chagrin, with their enticement along with my need to have a more expressive environment in my games, I became another happy owner of their product and walked out the proverbial door to put their texture creation application into my toolbox and into my games.  I can now work with this new application, building textures for my games, within any software package that supports Substance Designer, which for me would be Unity, my game engine, and also Maya, which is my pick for asset creation because Softimage will become unsupported and then nonsupported in the near future.

While building these textures in Substance and thinking about how to use these textures efficiently in Unity I found Scripting Shaders in Unity, again on Digital Tutors.  These two ideas of building textures and then having the appropriate shader provided in Unity for the proper lighting, that, and the fact that Maya has a built in plug-in for Substance, has made the idea of utilizing Maya as my game asset creation software a much easier choice than I had first thought.  All of these affordances to easily transfer assets across applications has also brought some resolve to the choices of which applications I will be studying and using for my own game production pipeline.

So it looks like April will be a Digital Tutors kind of month.  Because of my one month subscription I’ll be digging into Maya, Unity and ZBrush tutorials, for the most part, while I try to build this months game about water.  Seeing that I’m just starting off with Unity, my games will be very basic, and probably boarder line almost not games, as they are hallmarks of study rather than production models of games to hit the showroom floor.  Some would further debate that, but these games are built to follow the One Game A Month theme and incorporate the new technologies that perpetually become apparent as a continuous onslaught that make themselves obvious as my game building journey progresses.

To be Continued …

G’day.

April 15, 2014 - Posted by | 2014 [0050] to [00??], The Process | , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

