MyI@FarNiche

Building an XNA Game Studio XBox360 Indie Game.

[page 0072] ~ My HTML Help File :

September/October Backlog:

Updates: –  : Windows Shutdown Update, NVIDIA GeForce 340.52 driver, JAVA Version 7 Update 67-71, Flash Player 14.0.0.176, Substance Painter V0.10.2b438, Substance Designer 4.4.1, Autodesk® Application Manager v3.0.159.0, Adobe Reader XI(11.0.09) .
DownLoads: –  .

Imitation Is The Best Form Of Flattery“, and I say to me, “Don’t flatter yourself”.  But my HTML Help file is going to become a copy, clone, reincarnation, imitation of my own website, in part.  So, once again, I just tell myself to shut up and get on with it.  I figure the best way to get a revived understanding of how to build an HTML Help file, for what I will use as my wizard guidelines to draw out a game production pipeline template, for my game builds, is to rebuild my website, within the HTML Help Workshop, to become a stand-alone help file, that will facilitate the construction of a consistent game model, which will progressively grow in depth and breath, to become my minimal viable product as my OGAM game submissions.  Seeing that my internet site is based on what was an old HTML Help exe I had built about ten years ago, HTML Help Ten Years After, I might as well bring it around full circle and update it with todays’ .css format and layout standards.  In the end, as an end product, I would like to get this new HTML Help construct to have the same format and look as my website, i.e. the background .jpg’s and the like, to also have the same structure and feel while navigating about the help file, for the most part.

The way it looks, from all that I have observed thus far, is that the infrastructure used to connect all of the game assets, having been built prior to them being assembled, is just as important to the building of video games as is the knowledge of consolidation of all those assets that I have built for the game within the game engine.  So not only am I building the game assets to make the game, along with the game itself, but also the infrastructure that is needed to focus on consistency between those pieces, as they are built.  So the integration of those pieces, as they are interchanged between games, levels, scenes and scenarios makes the construction result as a more robust process.  Whew!

What I need now is to build an “in house” help file as a step by step wizard to guide my way through this game creation process.  OK then, open HTML Help Workshop and load the associated *.hhp file.  Then open my game terrain environment setup notes and start that whole game initialization process one more time.  But this time through, as each process is set to task, I will be adding it to the help file *.html page.  And once again, it becomes a long and drawn out adventure running back and fourth between actually doing what needs to be done by following my notes, and then also copying and configuring the *.html page so it will be readily accessible through the Table of Contents(TOC), Index, Search and Favorites of that help exe.

One thing I need to keep in mind is that this is only the start of this help file and it only takes me to the point where I have a terrain of land and water with a sky box that is all given generic lighting.  But even that is somewhat of a long process that is easily forgotten if it is not written down in notes and now, this game creation help system.

It’s good to be back!

G’day.

October 31, 2014 - Posted by | 2014 [0050] to [00??], The Process | , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

