MyI@FarNiche

Building an XNA Game Studio XBox360 Indie Game.

[page 0074] ~ MakeHuman IK and FL Studio 12 :

Updates: –  .
DownLoads: –  .

Alright.  I’m finally back to my Doctor control rigging and animation.  Now, what I am trying to do is transpose the HumanIK Control Rig and accompanying HIK Constraints harness from the Doctor onto a MakeHuman mesh.  That skeleton needs to be validated in the HumanIK character definition structure template in Maya LT 2015 using their Character Controls.  Then, once this is done I should be able to start building animations for different characters that can be played in Unity.

But all this is not understood yet, but much has been done, FarNiche HowTo GameDev Series CHARACTER CREATION.  It may take some time to get my hand built skeleton chain and control rig reconfigured to align with the prefab skeleton given by MakeHuman.  That MakeHuman character comes along with the biped mesh within its .fbx file.  The biggest problem here is that the model from MakeHuman is given as something closer to an “A” pose while the animation validator in Maya LT uses a strict “T” pose.  There isn’t a huge problem taking their “A” pose and manipulating it to align with the required “T” pose format.  But this needs to be done so the animations can be transferred easily between other human bipedal model mesh characters.  The problem stems from differing source providers when it comes to the Control Rig being used, or designed, or rebuilt in Maya LT.

The Doctor mesh I built in ZBrush with the skeleton, from my June 2014 Game, built from a tutorial on Digital Tutors, Character Rigging for Production.  I used a Maya 2011 schema where a lot of that functionality, for animation purposes, has been incorporated into Maya LT 2015.  So the tutorial is actually compatible with and able to be followed in my version of Maya, the indie version, LT.  This tutorial builts a valid control rig, but, that rig does not match up correctly or exactly with the out-of-the-box MakeHuman asset.  The control rig, from the Doctor, that I have right now is not overly complex, but it is not simple by any means and does give enough feature bending and manipulation.  Any bipedal character from MakeHuman, once harnessed in the Control Rig, will “act” or behave with to then have the capacity to perform with more realistic movements.  One thing that further drives me is that from 2009 to 2012 I built similar control rigs in XSI/SoftImage.  I have some idea of what it takes to build control rigs, but from then until now, I have had no means to build, and save, them.  Incorporating these into builds that do something useful, like character animation outside of the construction application is where the Unity Game Engine comes into play.

So now, the way it looks, after doing a Smooth Bind of the MakeHuman mesh Skin to the Skeleton, I will be continuing work on this, to hopefully, finalize a Universal Control Rig for all of my Character assets built in MakeHuman or from other sources.  It will be a slow and meticulous series of incremental saves, full of research, test and try again before the next save and hopefully improvement in design.

In the mean time, I have finally gotten to the point in my game development and studio construction process where I have found a program to help me in creating music for my games, FL Studio 11.  And a day after I loaded it onto my machine, they came out with FL Studio BETA 12.  So being the good internet citizen that I am, I of course, downloaded the new FL Studio 11.5.13 Beta which will be FL Studio 12 when it is finally released sometime in 2015, which makes me a Beta tester… again.  This program is a midi controller, automation data and .wav sampler where music is formulated by building Patterns within a step sequencer and Painting those patterns onto tracks to make up playlists which become songs.  This new BETA 12, immediately looks and feels different than that of the FL Studio 11 I had initially purchased.  In 11, all of the modules were hard coded to be a certain size, so it was like a Tetris game placing different midi and .wav sampler/modulators of differing sizes onto the workspace.  Now, nearly everything is vectorial , sizable and scalable so placement is less of an issue as it can snap into place and the clarity of the interface forces less squinting when sitting back from the monitor, which is definitely a greatly appreciated plus.

G’day.

February 28, 2015 - Posted by | 2015 [0073] to [0???] | , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

